Where have I been?/Whole Foods Product Review

So…. you might be wondering where I’ve been since my last post.   Here goes, I wanted to further my knowledge of working and learning more about the eco-friendly journey.   So I  was very determined about working for Whole Foods Market in the  Whole Body Department which deals with Supplements, Sports/Training supplements, Probiotics, Beauty and body care products.   I spent a few months learning and applying my customer service skills.  I met some pretty amazing people and co-workers; I learned so much during my time there.   So, now I’m back to doing more creative stuff to share what I’ve learned.

Here is a Whole Foods Product Review that I hope you’ll enjoy!

My first product to try out was the Tom’s of Maine 6 benefits in 1 Whole Care Mouth wash in Fresh Mint.   I must admit I’d never made mouth wash part of my dental routine.  So, I gave mouth wash a shot.
The product claims to have 6 benefits
-Fights cavities
-Restores minerals
-Strengthens enamel
-Freshens breath
-Cleans between teeth
-Alcohol-free
The product is 16 FL.oz
The active ingredient: is Sodium Fluoride 0.02% (0.01% Fluoride ion)
Inactive ingredient: Water, glycerin, sorbitol, Aloe Barbadensis leaf juice, propanediol, xylitol, natural flavor, benzoic acid, phosphoric acid, disodium phosphate.
Also, Tom’s of Maine lists a lot of great benefits in how they run the Brand.
For example
No animal testing
No artificial colors, flavors, fragrance, or preservatives.
They share every ingredient, it’s purpose, and its source at www.tomsofmaine.com
Sustainable Practices
They strive to maximize recycled content and recyclability of their packaging.
5% of employee time to volunteering.  10% of profits to human and environmental goodness.
These are great standards and ones I really care about being an eco-friendly advocate.
I like that it is alcohol free, and that it can remineralize the teeth.  It does so with adding Aloe Vera which contains small amounts of minerals such as:
Aloe Vera is also a anti-inflammatory which is useful for people with sensitive gums or gingivitis.  There are also claims that Aloe can help whiten teeth.
 
 
Curious about Sorbital:
“Sorbitol is a naturally occurring sugar alcohol with a sweet taste that is found in many edible fruits, berries, and vegetables. Sorbitol was first discovered in the fresh juice of mountain ash berries in 1872. The sorbitol we use is derived from corn. In its natural state, sorbitol appears as a white crystalline powder.” Tom’s of Maine
both Sorbitol and propanediol are made from corn and are humectants.
Xylitol, has been shown to have added benefits for a person’s teeth, namely preventing tooth decay.  Held in the mouth, xylitol also stimulates saliva flow.
“In mouthwash disodium phosphate acts as a buffering agent that helps maintain the pH or acidity of the product. When disodium phosphate is combined with fluoride and phosphoric acid to form an acidulated phosphate fluoride  solution as outlined in the FDA’s Anticaries monograph, that solution promotes remineralization and helps prevent enamel dissolution.”Tom’s of Maine
Screen Shot 2018-09-08 at 3.13.42 AM
Experience:  First thoughts, I didn’t anticipate much from a mouth wash.  I used it for about 2 weeks, twice a day.  First impression was that after brushing swishing for 1 minute my teeth felt very polished and smooth.  I was surprised with the results.  It did taste sweet and had an antiseptic taste to it, which I wasn’t a fan of but it did leave a squeaky clean feeling to my teeth and had a pleasant minty fresh taste.  It was able to get to hard to reach areas of my teeth which brushing doesn’t always get to.  Would I use Tom’s mouth wash again, yes.  I would definitely try to get one without fluoride.   Wow, I learned so much about what goes into a dental product and learned to be more discerning.

For the second product, I am reviewing the 365 Plant Protein Smoothie in the flavor “Coconut Almond.”

First of all the 365 price point is very budget friendly which is a plus.  I am familiar with Whey protein but I have not actually tried a plant-based protein before.  The product contains 15g grams of plant protein.  The protein comes from a blend of Pea protein, Sacha Inchi Seed Protein, Organic Hemp Seed Protein.  If you were wondering what a Sacha Inchi Seed was, I was too.  Apparently, I’ve eaten them before but had to google it.
“Grown in the Amazon Rainforest and the high Andes Mountains of Peru, sacha inchi has been part of the Inca diet for 3000 years. The sacha inchi plant, Plukenetia volubilis, is a rainforest vine, with star-shaped seed pods, meaning that these Inca peanuts are technically seeds, not nuts.”
 
What are the benefits of Sacha Inchi Seeds……
Sacha inchi is rich in proteinomega-3, -6, and -9, alpha tocopherol, vitamin E, and carotenoids (Vitamin A), and fiber. Its unique collection of nutrients provide notable benefits for the body. Controls cholesterol. Sacha inchi lowers BAD cholesterol(LDL) and raises GOOD cholesterol (HDL).
Is it a complete protein…..
Sacha Inchi Protein Benefits. Sacha Inchi is a complete protein, containing all 8 essential amino acids that our bodies cannot create. This super seed protein powder is 60% protein by weight—higher than many nuts and seeds.
Pea Protein is not a complete Protein, it does not contain all 8 essential amino acids; hence the pairings of the two with it.
What are Pea protein benefits….
It contains a rich source of Lysine,it’s essential for building connective tissue like skin, cartilage, and bones.  It does not contain dairy, which would not create allergies; great for those who are lactose-intolerant. It’s gluten-free and easier to digest.   It also contains iron the non-heme type iron found in plants.  Pea protein is low glycemic food and is low carb.  
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

 

It also contains Hemp Seed Protein which are rich in healthy fats and essential fatty acids. They are also a great protein source and contain high amounts of vitamin E, phosphorus, potassium, sodium, magnesium, sulfur, calcium, iron and zinc.
The 365 Plant Protein Smoothie also contains a Green Blend of 330mg which contains Spinach Powder, Organic Alfalfa Powder, Organic Kale Powder, Broccoli Powder.
Other ingredients include coconut, guar gum, stevia extract, sea salt, brown rice powder, papain powder (from papaya)
The product contains only 80 calories, 15 fat from calories 1g of carbohydrates 1g of sugar, it is sweetened with stevia.   It has 20mg of calcium and 4mg of iron.
I would say this is one to recommend if someone is trying to maintain their weight or trying to lose weight.  It is also great protein source for Vegans.   The directions imply that you can use a shaker cup which would be great for anyone on the go.
Experience:
So I blended my smoothie with oat milk, coarsely ground flax, Maca, frozen banana, frozen strawberries, and a full scoop of the 365 Plant Protein Smoothie and hit blend topped it off with coconut shavings.   I was very impressed with the flavor of coconut as I am a fan of anything coconut, but I didn’t really taste the almond flavor at all.  The consistency of the smoothie was a bit  more textured than I’m used to with whey proteins, it’s probably due to the pea protein texture.
The flavor was exciting to try and the protein was a lot lighter on the tummy.  Would I try this again?  I sure would!  I really liked the combo of the three plant-based proteins.

 

Published by Artist

Reyes is a visionary artist. Reyes' work is Urban, Pop, Surrealism, consisting of urban landscapes, the environment,its' people along with questioning social issues. " My hope is to leave my audience questioning ideas within themselves & moving them to open communication ways."-

Leave a comment